erin’s blog for nina

Posted in Uncategorized by Erin Dollar on August 16, 2009

enlarge

TERR_P_6

TERR_M_1

TERR_M_4

Installation by Mckendree Key.

Thought these were balloons at first, then realized they are those plastic balls that are put in ball pits. FUN. To be honest, though, I am beginning to question this trend in the art world of “let’s amass as many mundane (or throw away) objects as we can, and turn it into an art installation.” Looks amazing, to be sure, but what should we take away from these exhibits?

Not to say that I don’t enjoy this type of art, because I often do.  I often find a sense of pleasure in looking upon huge collections of mundane objects (remember the drinking straw sculptures I blogged about a while back?) I love that this particular installation throws adults (presumably the target audience) back into the ball pit, immersing them in their childhood. But I always wonder what happens to all these objects once the show is over. Do people buy them for their houses? Are they permanently installed somewhere? Or is that the point: a self-conscious critical understanding of how artists fit into throw away consumer culture? Beautification of mass produced, utilitarian objects has been going on for a long time, but I wonder how it has changed over the last decade or so, as we enter into what some people (admittedly not myself) perceive as a “green revolution”.

Let’s discuss this more at a later date, shall we?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dr.Uid said, on August 22, 2009 at 8:04 am

    This post reminded me a comic of xkcd 🙂

    By the way, thank you for that blog, it’s always cheering me up)))

  2. adam said, on August 28, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    reminds me of felix with his papers but in a much less meaningful and tired reconstruction. they are visually appealing. Interesting discussion!


Leave a Reply

